CERAMIC LAMPS AND LUMINAIRES

CERAMIC LAMPS AND LUMINAIRES

‘The light source will never be visible to produce deep, slightly veiled reflections.’ Junichirô  Tanizaki, in Praise of Shadows.

With my luminaires, I try to create a soft and intimate light, by indirect lighting.

My main source of inspiration lies in the luminous atmosphere of Venice and one of its leading designers, Mariano Fortuny, whose universe never ceases to inspire me.

” Fluide ” Lamp

For this lamp, the technic led to the mushroom shape, which emerged once the technical problems were solved. My initial intention was to create a frieze of drops around the edges of the lampshade. Its centre is retracted inside to create the support. The base is thinner at the top for a minimal visual interference with the frieze of drops, and flares at the bottom for stability. The lampshade and the lamp base are two separate parts, easy to move. The refined shape and the raw stoneware magnify and catch the eye, directing it to the light and the random frieze formed by the translucent enamel. The contrast of materials is delicate – between the raw and dark clay and the delicacy of the translucent glass drops. 

fluide

alune

” Alune ” Lamp

It is available in three different types : to lay on furniture, to hang on a wall or to suspend from the ceiling. It is a thin, round disc whose aspect changes depending from where you are looking at it. Fired when flat, the enamel is opposed to the direction of gravity if it is placed on the edge, and seems to keep on melting if it is hung. The enamel’s translucency is revealed once lit. 

“Lustre ” Chandelier

‘Nothing is hidden under the sun.’ Leonardo da Vinci

This chandelier is inspired by the large historical ones you can see in Versailles, but only when admired from below. This flattened visual effect merges with the orbs phenomenon. This mixture of inspirations has led to this circular and flat chandelier, with holes from which flows ‘glassenamel’ (or ‘verrémail’ in French).

Orbs: result of an optical phenomenon, in which the rays of the flash reflect on a particle, such as dust, pollen grain or droplets, which passes in front of the lens of a camera.

‘‘ Cremoso ’’ Floor Lamp or Suspension Lamp

In this lampshade shaping like a bell, enamel fills the holes of the vertical surface. The light colour of enamel and stoneware creates a homogeneous whole in daylight. Once lit, its particularity is revealed through the enamel’s translucency, the colours change, the light stoneware is darkened by a back-light and the enamel lights up.

Unique pieces on request

For more information about the range of ceramic lamps available in Igny, please contact me.

ADDRESS

18, rue du Moulin
91430 Igny

Phone : 06.12.01.79.37

Email : bymanet@free.fr

Luminaires

LAMPES ET LUMINAIRES EN CÉRAMIQUE

lampes et luminaires en céramique

 « Jamais la source lumineuse ne sera visible pour engendrer des reflets profonds, un peu voilés »  Junichirô  Tanizaki dans l’Éloge de l’ombre. 

A travers mes luminaires je cherche à transmettre une lumière douce et intime par un éclairage indirect.

Ma source essentielle d’inspiration réside dans l’ambiance lumineuse de Venise et l’un de ses créateurs phare, Mariano Fortuny, dont l’univers ne cesse de m’inspirer.

Lampe ” Fluide “

Dans cette lampe, la technique a très fortement induit la forme champignon, émergée une fois les problèmes techniques résolus. La volonté initiale était de créer une frise de gouttes sur les pourtours de l’abat-jour. Le centre de ce dernier est rentré à l’intérieur pour créer le point de support. Le pied est plus fin en haut pour une interférence visuelle minime avec la frise de gouttes et s’évase en bas pour la stabilité de l’ensemble. Le chapeau et le pied sont deux parties indépendantes facilitant les déplacements. La forme épurée et le grès brut magnifient et orientent le regard vers la légère frise aléatoire formée par l’émail translucide. Le contraste des matières est délicat, entre la terre brute et sombre et la finesse des gouttes de verre translucide.

fluide

alune

Lampe ” Alune “

Ces lampes se déclinent en trois types : à poser, à accrocher en applique ou à suspendre en plafonnier. De forme ronde, c’est un fin disque qui change d’aspect suivant le point de vue, de profil ou de face. Cuite à plat, la matière de l’émail est en opposition avec le sens de la gravité si elle est posée sur la tranche et semble continuer à fondre si elle est suspendue. La translucidité de l’émail se révèle une fois éclairée.

Lustre ” Lustre “

“Jamais le Soleil ne voit l’ombre”        Léonard de Vinci

Lustre inspiré par les grands lustres historiques comme l’on peut en croiser à Versailles mais uniquement lorsqu’on les admire par dessous. Cet effet visuel aplatit vient se confondre avec le phénomène des orbes. Ce mélange d’inspiration à engendré ce ce lustre circulaire et plat percé de trous dont coule le “verrémail”.

orbes : résultats d’un phénomène optique de réflexion des rayons du flash sur une particule telle une poussière, un grain de pollen ou une gouttelette qui passe devant l’objectif d’un appareil photo.

Lampadaire ou suspension ‘‘ Cremoso ’’

Dans cet abat-jour cloche, l’émail remplit les trous de la paroi verticale. La couleur claire de l’émail et du grès crée un ensemble homogène à la lumière du jour. C’est une fois allumée que sa particularité se révèle dans la translucidité de l’émail, les couleurs changent, le grès clair s’assombrit par un contre-jour et l’émail s’illumine.

Pièces uniques sur demande

Pour davantage de renseignements sur la gamme de lampe en céramique proposée à Igny, n’hésitez pas à me contacter

CONTACT

18, rue du Moulin
91430 Igny

Téléphone : 06.12.01.79.37

Mail : bymanet@free.fr